Tags

, , , ,

Happy St. Nicholas Day!

We’re struggling a little over what to do for Christmas decorations.  Christmas tree or no Christmas tree?  For the past two years, we have not had a Christmas tree for Christmas day.  Although we had a tree set up at our house, we spent those Christmas days in NYC.  I have yet to see a Christmas tree-selling stand here in London.  In DC, they seem to be all over the place after Thanksgiving, in every empty lot or church parking lot.  Through online searches, I’ve found a few scattered garden stores that sell trees here, but after buying lights and a stand, it seems a small table-top size will run over $100.  Our flat has a nice-sized olive tree, so we’re thinking of just getting a string of lights to make it a little festive.  Michael thinks an olive tree is more authentic.  The German me says, “No way!”

Before we left DC, I also bought some tissue paper and contact paper to make some colorful stars for our windows.  Barbara and I had made some of these when the kids were small, so I thought this would be a good space-saving craft to do once more.  So far, this is what I’ve done:

Plus I finished knitting my vest, just need to sew in the ends.

And I started a new knitting project, which will be a Christmas gift.  I’m about half finished with this new project.

So I have been a crafty lady!

