Tags

, ,

By MrWeeble at en.wikipedia from Wikimedia Commons

Some of my family and friends know that one of my guilty pleasures is watching Dancing With The Stars.  I’m sorry, I know it’s trashy, but I just find it very entertaining.  I do enough high-class stuff – hey, I’m a Cleveland Orchestra groupie now!!!  (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, email me!!!)

Back to DWTS, I have had a lot of trouble watching it over here.  Websites like Hulu are blocked outside of the US, so I’ve had to hunt around for short clips of the individual dances on youtube or the ABC website.  Too frustrating!  Well, this week I discovered the original British version of the show called Strictly Come Dancing.  Even Len Goodman and Bruno Tonioli are judges on the show here.  There are 4 judges on the British version, and one of them tends to make controversial remarks to engage the audience more.  The problem is that I don’t know any of the “celebrities”, so it just isn’t as interesting for me.

I am amazed at how many American TV shows actually originated on British TV.  On our flight over here, Michael and I enjoyed watching clips of Ricky Gervais’ show Extras, which was adapted and shown on HBO for a while.  I also knew about The Office, but other shows like American Idol, Who Wants to Be a Millionaire, What Not to Wear, Who Do You Think You Are?, Wife Swap, Antiques Roadshow, All in the Family, Sanford and Son, and Three’s Company all originated as British shows.

All in all, I just don’t think I’ll watch the British dance show, and I’ll have to give up DWTS for this season.  I’m starting to become a Doc Martin fan instead and may start watching the popular series, Downton Abbey, which stars Maggie Smith.

