Tags

, , , ,

Since Michael had to work on Friday, I decided it would be a good day to explore the Louvre for the first time.  It was nothing short of OVERWHELMING!!!

Grande Galerie, Louvre

This photo shows one of the large galleries that seem to go on and on forever.  The place is HUGE, so it’s easy to get lost.  I was able to see the Mona Lisa, the Venus de Milo, and Winged Victory, but missed some of the other highlights.  The Napoleon III apartments were interesting, with the most ornate chandeliers I’ve ever seen.

Napoleon III apartments, Louvre

If I had to do this day over again, I think I would have gotten one of the audio tours to help make some sense of the museum.  Many of the galleries had some large explanatory tablets for some of the works in a variety of languages, which was helpful for getting more information.  There are also some guided tours in English, but I’m not so sure this is the best option given the crowds of people.  In any case, I’m glad I had the day to introduce myself to this incredible museum.

After walking to the museum in the morning, touring for about four hours, then walking back to the hotel along the Champs de Elysee to the Arc de Triomphe, my feet were about to fall off!!!  To cap off the day, Michael and I had an incredibly delicious fish dinner at a restaurant just steps from our hotel.

